Skip to content

continuation of “KHYF Issues past and present”

November 13, 2012
This is a continuation of the thread that KHYF sent out recently Message from KHYF: Issues past and present. Received this a few days ago.
I just fished out this letter from my old files, the response to the summons sent by KHYF – after the case was “permanently closed”. if you think it is worth, you can post it.

Date: Tue, Aug 7, 2007 at 7:51 AM
Subject: FOR Sri. TKV Desikachar
To: KHYF Office and KYM trustees

To

Sri T K V Desikachar

Respected Sir,

This is my response to the call for panel investigation. I am sorry, it comes after the file has been permanently closed.

I would like to state here that I really have nothing more to add to my last letter. I am neither a victim nor the offender; I was only a messenger – a whistle blower. Unless the victims begin to speak for themselves, I cannot do anything. As a woman, I understand their trauma and their silence.

I would have been willing to attend this panel if only the members were neutral and if it were not conducted in the perpetrator’s home or office. I do not see this as a fair process, only a face-saving exercise. I also felt intimidated and threatened in the tone of the letter and felt that I could not trust anybody in this organization anymore. It is very unfortunate that after 16 years of devotion and so much of hard work for this institution, I have to leave in this manner, treated like a pariah!

All this for standing by the truth. You know this truth as well as I do, you have had first hand information. I understand that as a parent it is difficult to accept. The dharma of the parent is prevailing over the dharma of a yoga teacher. I understand and accept all this. I apologize for the possible pain that my speaking of the truth may have caused you. But my parents have taught me to stand by the truth, ALWAYS…

I am very happy to be outside this organization that seems like a “cult”. The larger world is promising me so much security and real freedom. I thank you for all that you have offered me in these long years. I shall remain forever grateful for these wonderful teachings, practices, healing and the awakening.

Please do reflect on the healing for your son. Today, you can let him close the file but sooner or later, the cracks will reappear, widen and deepen. The wound is still festering. Please do something for healing the victims too, if possible. And please do ensure that there will be no more victims. This is all I plead of you.

Forever in gratitude,

Saraswathi V

From → 2007, Kausthub, KHYF

2 Comments
  1. Brave piece of writing: appreciate your honesty and commitment to standing up for what is right and true. It’s easy for the perpetrators of abuse to have no idea how intimidating it is to be in their presence and the tone of the initial “permanently closed” file does nothing to reassure. All along there has been a feeling of hubris coming from Kausthub as if he stood above the law – I am told that he initially claimed “his conscience was clean”. It takes a lot of guts to stand up against such self belief and power.

  2. Shankar permalink

    “Today, you can let him close the file but sooner or later, the cracks will reappear, widen and deepen. The wound is still festering. Please do something for healing the victims too, if possible. And please do ensure that there will be no more victims. This is all I plead of you.”

    – This is the crux of the whole matter . A warning was issued in 2007 and it was never taken seriously and look at the mess now Desikachar and his family are facing . They have their motto on their Logo :”Heyam Dukham Anagatam – The Misery that has not yet come should be avoided ” . Shouldnt Saraswathi’s warning be a blessing in disguise to avoid the Misery that was due in 2012 to be acted in 2007 itself .

Leave a Reply

