Skip to content

From Kausthub

January 28, 2013

Hello Friends

Greetings from Chenai where we are approaching a very propitious time of year – Pongal – the festival of thanksgiving to nature, especially the Sun. It is at this auspicious time that I write to you with the purpose of breaking the silence of the past four months. My thanksgiving is for the possibility of positive change as reflected by our seasons.

These months of being still, away from teaching, have been some of the hardest of my life. This time has given me the much needed opportunity to reflect on what went so horribly wrong and to begin to transform myself as a person. There is no way of changing this past. I sincerely regret for what has happened.

In this time, some people have taken advantage of my silence and spread inaccurate and exaggerated information. Perhaps, we each need to be careful not only to listen to the loudest voices.

Through a journey that embraced both professional and traditional methods, I have been able to go deep into a healing and self-enquiry process. I am continuing to make every effort to shift patterns to improve myself on all domains. I take responsibility for my actions and embrace the fact that there is no one other than me to blame for the disturbing changes that occurred.

From this quiet place, I hope to emerge a better person. Personally and professionally, I am looking to take small steps to create an appropriate and healthy foundation for future teaching. In this, I would ask you to judge me not by my words – even by this email – but rather by my future actions in offering teachings from a tradition that holds the strength to transform darkness into light in the hearts of all of us.

With respect and in good faith

Kausthub Desikachar

From → Kausthub

5 Comments
  1. yogasentinel permalink

    When there are words from you saying are sorry you abused your students, then your words and actions can begin to be credible.

    Get professional help so you can at-least be healthy for your own sake and you don’t go around messing up more peoples lives.

    Go away!

  2. This is interesting. So:

    “This time has given me the much needed opportunity to reflect on what went so horribly wrong and to begin to transform myself as a person. There is no way of changing this past. I sincerely regret for what has happened.”
    He regrets “what has happened”; he reflects on “what went so horribly wrong” – but not “what I have done”!
    .
    And then:

    “In this, I would ask you to judge me not by my words – even by this email – but rather by my future actions in offering teachings from a tradition that holds the strength to transform darkness into light in the hearts of all of us.”

    The actions referred to are not about how he treats people, but about “offering teachings”. In effect, it is paving the way for a return to teaching (which was announced a few days later).

    This is entirely self-centred – it’s all about Kausthub, not about anyone else. I think a little more self reflection is needed here…

  3. After four months KD is still in denial. Paul Harvey posted this on FB. Do the same Yoga Sentinel.

  4. There’s also a certain irony in his comment “Perhaps, we each need to be careful not only to listen to the loudest voices”. For the last 10 years, Kausthub’s voice as the voice of the “true lineage” has been the loudest!

  5. allise rhode permalink

    Manipulation continues. So the patient isn’t well yet!!
    This fellow has to leave town, so to speak.

    Redemption?
    I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

